Tomato Garlic Sauce

My principal, back when I was a part-time teacher, was Italian.  He is an amazing cook with loads of family recipes.  He also doesn’t believe in secrecy when it comes to recipes, a man after my own heart.  If someone is willing to do the work to make great tasting food, give them everything they need succeed… like a full recipe!

His go to for parties at his house was making the world’s best Italian sausages, serving them in real Italian buns and topping them with the most amazing tomato garlic sauce.

My husband and I are very vocal when we like food.  We were especially vocal about how amazing his food was, and that earned us an evening of cooking with him.  What a delight!  We made two kinds of sauces (one with eggplant and another with zucchini and peas), loaves of Italian bread, and arancini.  While we were there he also made a copy of his mother’s recipe for “garlic sauce.”  I will hardly eat an Italian sausage without it.

Funny thing about recipes… you need the recipe to make the food.  This sauce was in my recipe binder that didn’t make the cut to stay by my side and it ended up in storage.  I was without the recipe when my sister-in-law invited us over for handmade Italian sausages on the grill she bought fresh that day from Manino’s (Italian market, so good).  Working from taste and a bit of a memory I remade the tomato garlic sauce and it was a hit.  I’ve made my recipe of it twice more this summer and it’s worked great.  I think I even converted a few people… my sister-in-law texted me when she was serving the same Italian sausages without the sauce and it was “missing something.”  My mom isn’t a big fan of sausages, but she likes ‘em with the sauce.

I’ll share my recipe for the sauce, not my principal’s.   I’m sure he’d give it to you if you’d ask, but that’s on you.  I just checked his recipe, now that our material possessions are back in our possession and unpacked, and mine is very similar.  His adds lemon juice and doesn’t have onion, but it’s very close.

What you’ll need…

IMG_2332

Stick it all in a blender or smoothie cup.  (Looks a little like a hangover cure I’ve seen in movies.)

IMG_2334

Blend until smooth.

IMG_2335

Put it in a bottle.  (Actually, it was too chunky for the thin opening of my sauce bottle and got stuck… we took the lid off and poured it on.)  Or put it in a bowl and spoon it on. IMG_2338

Enjoy!

IMG_2336

I guess this is technically a fresh chutney.  I’m doing a lot out of the Aarti Sequeira book and she claims ketchup is a chutney.

Let me know if you try it!

tomato garlic sauce

One thought on “Tomato Garlic Sauce

Leave a Reply

