Managing the Mess in the Toddler Boy’s Room

I walk in to my son’s room and I’m often momentarily overwhelmed by… 

So tempted to get rid of all of it. But, no. It just needs tidying. It won’t take long if I break it up. 

Dinosaurs

Bed…

No floor space. 

That didn’t help. Now it’s just more. 

Okay. Bed first and throw all of the stuffed animals to the back. It’s where they’re kept for now. 😦

Make the bed…

Stick the weapons in a bag on his chair. Someday I’ll do those awesome peg board walls with all of them on display, but not today. 

Using my dustpan (great for lego bricks and small toys) I scoop the dinos back into the fancy box. Ha!  It’s going in the closet. No one sees it. 

His favorite toys on the window seat. He loves things at chest level. 

That’s better. 

Then later we bought 50 cent brackets and hung shelves using boards from a broken down book case that we saved from being trashed. 


Now he has more chest level play surfaces and the floor is so much less cluttered!

I’m currently reading The Inspired Room (the book) by Melissa Michaels and she calls this “everyday on display.” 

Leave a Reply

