3ms How I Love Thee…

Gallery arrangements are my favorite way to hang pictures.  Mostly because I can’t decide on just a few pictures to put on the wall and I love that you can add variety.  Maybe gallery style is post-trend, I’m not sure, but I do know the easiest way to do one, 3ms.

img_6301
These are mostly before pictures of what our home looked like before we, and my in-laws fixed it up.  It is in our entryway and I love it!
I’ve seen examples of using butcher paper and outlining each frame, marking where the nail goes.  I’ve heard about people putting toothpaste on the hanging bracket and placing it on the wall just so, leaving a minty mark where to drive your nail.  Both good, but I still prefer no holes in the wall.

img_6300
The posters are heavy, so I used 4 of the medium velcro strips
I eyeball my arrangements and use Velcro 3ms.  Well, I eyeball and when I do my final sticking I do use a pocket level.  Usually I’ll lay out all my frames and items on the floor and snap a picture for reference on my phone, but it always changes as I’m sticking it on the wall.  When you’re hanging many frames or items, I find that I don’t have to be exact with the distance between.  I just try to line up one with either the top or bottom of the frame next to it leaving approximately the same distance around each one.

Are they more expensive than nails.  Yep.  Do you need to use enough so you don’t hear your frame go bump in the night.  Yep.  Do I still recommend them, ABSOLUTELY.

The velcro is my favorite for picture hanging for the ease of changing your picture out every now and then.  I also love that I can really get a frame level, taking it back off the wall if needed.

img_6298
Yes, those are Christmas lights with clear cups with cut up old jeans hot glued to them.
It’s as quick as a sticker so I waste no time doing a whole wall like this.  When we moved in, I had large things hung in every room in under a week.  That makes you feel quite homey.

I use other 3m hanging strips and hooks in other places too.  My kids’ light strands are up with tiny clear hooks.

img_6299

Mason jars with herbs are above my kitchen sink with strong 3ms, and my metal colander and library bag are both hung with double 3m plastic rungs.


Hang without holes!

 

Leave a Reply

