Domestic Incentives

Sometimes I require motivation to get things done. Deadlines and report cards and incentives all work wonders for me.

My mom used to make rules for herself like “No reading a novel until you’ve read your Bible today.” I think this rubbed off on me. I even tried to “earn my shower” by working out or mowing the lawn first. Ha!

While plenty of daily chores are intrinsically rewarding (cleared counters, clean smelling laundry, etc) I like rewarding myself for a job well done.

For instance…

The cup of tea I brew while emptying the dishwasher in the afternoon. I start my kettle and begin unloading. By the time I get to the top rack, it’s time to pour. It takes me 3-4 minutes to load and hand wash the few remaining items that cannot be in the dishwasher which is also my ideal steeping time for tea. I wipe the counters and wash my hands. I doctor with cream and sugar and head off to read and sip my well earned tea, often to the productive soundtrack of the dishwasher running the next load.

How about you? Do you have a reward system for a job well done?

2 thoughts on “Domestic Incentives

Leave a comment