Sensory Walking

I started reading this amazing book yesterday.

I heard about it on NPR first as they interviewed the author. Basically, our senses are far stronger than imagined, and we use them far less than we should. Smell things twice and so on to increase your sense awareness. I’m only a couple of chapters in, but it already moved me to take a walk without earbuds in to enjoy the senses I experience as I walk.

Fall in my neighborhood is especially beautiful too, so I took pictures.

So many of us spend 90 percent of our time indoors and away from nature, we miss this. I hope you get to take a walk like I did soon. Smell things twice. Listen to the birds and wind rustle and acorns crunch underfoot. Enjoy the changing of the season and all it offers you.

If you’re overwhelmed, maybe an Autumn Beauty Cleanse (ABC) is what you need. To manage the mess, go back to basics.

It doesn’t have to be far even. These three pictures are from my own yard. How do you remember to enjoy the beauty around you?

Leave a comment