Teaching my cats to share…

Tuna is a magical fish at our house.

My poor Bruce was over-grooming to the point of baldness. I took him to the vet and they tried steroids, but my cat hates taking meds. I tried a pheromone plug-in and fish oil pumped on his dry cat food. He mostly hated it, and it smelled fishy. the pheromone may have helped our other cat chill, but jury is still out in my opinion. Not worth the cost to me to refill it.

So I started giving him a spoon of tuna (yep cheap canned tuna in water from Aldi, one 88cent can lasts about a week for both cats) each morning.

I place it on a plate, but my half feral girl cat, Eartha, shoves Brice away pretty quickly.

Enter… the spoon method.

I now place two spoonfuls of tuna on the same plate and divide the piles with the spoon down the middle to “split” the plate. The spoon is loud against the plate as they finish licking up the tuna and they don’t love the noise. They now stay on their respective sides.

Grapefruit plastic spoon worked fine too!

Best news, Bruce has adjusted to his stress (still not sure the cause, cough Eartha) and tuna has made his coat shiny and full again. He’s one good looking cat.

Leave a comment