Pecan Crusted Chicken

My husband’s favorite meal we ate on Whole30 was all his idea.  We were talking about using nuts in place of  grains and he said we should do a breaded chicken with this great arrabiata sauce.  To make it compliant we didn’t use the white wine this recipe.  I think we used red wine vinegar.

For the chicken…

I pounded two chicken tenders in a plastic bag then salted both sides and let them set on the counter while I made the nut mixture to tenderize.

I pulsed all of my “breading” ingredients in my food processor until it looked almost like couscous.

Pecans, garlic, crushed red pepper, fennel seeds, italian seasoning, salt and pepper, and fresh parsley.

I placed my mix in a bowl and beat an egg in another bowl.

Simply dip in egg then pecan mixture.  I did have to press the mix on a little.

Heat oil in a medium non-stick pan with olive oil over medium-high heat until almost smoking.  Cook tenders for 2-3 minutes one one side, then flip for another 2 minutes (depending on how thick your chicken is) until cooked through (should read 160 degrees on an instant read thermometer).  Place on a plate and let it rest for 5 minutes.

Serve in a bowl of arrabiata sauce (or any marinara).

2 thoughts on “Pecan Crusted Chicken

Leave a comment